Prime Minister constitutes Economic Advisory Council headed by Bibek Debroy


Prime Minister Narendra Modi has reconstituted the Economic Advisory Council (EAC) to guide him on economic issues and appointed economist Bibek Debroy as its chairman.

The other members include Dr. Surjit Bhalla, Dr. Rathin Roy and Dr. Ashima Goyal and Ratan Watal, the Principal Advisor to Niti Aayog will be the secretary of the Council. The EAC-PM is an independent body which provides advice on economic issues to the government, specifically to the Prime Minister.

The terms of reference of the council include analysing any issue, economic or otherwise, referred to it by the PM and advising him thereon and address issues of macroeconomic importance and presenting views thereon to the PM, which could be either suo motu or on reference from the PM or anyone else.