14th India-EU summit held in New Delhi


The 14th annual Summit between India and the European Union (EU) was held in New Delhi on 6 October 2017. The Republic of India was represented by Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi. The EU was represented by Mr. Donald Tusk, President of the European Council, and Mr. Jean Claude Juncker, President of the European Commission.

The leaders reviewed the wide-ranging cooperation under the India-EU Strategic Partnership. Recognising that India and the EU are natural partners, the leaders reaffirmed their commitment to further deepen and strengthen the India-EU Strategic Partnership based on shared principles and values of democracy, freedom, rule of law and respect for human rights and territorial integrity of States.

The leaders expressed satisfaction at the progress made towards implementing the India-EU Agenda for Action 2020 – the roadmap for bilateral cooperation endorsed during the 13th India-EU Summit.


List of Agreements signed during 14th India-EU Summit


S. No. Name of Agreement Indian Signatory EU Signatory
1. Implementing Arrangement between the European Commission and the Science and Engineering Research Board (SERB) for Indian Researchers hosted by the European Research Council grantees in Europe Dr R. Sharma (SERB Secretary) Mr. Tomasz Kozlowski (EU Ambassador)
2. Finance Contract of Bangalore Metro Rail Project Phase-2-Line R6 for Euro 300 million out of total loan of Euro 500 million Mr. Subhash Chandra Garg (Secretary, DEA) Mr. Andrew McDowell (Vice President, EIB)
3. Joint Declaration between the Interim Secretariat of the International Solar Alliance and the European Investment Bank Mr UpendraTripathy (Secretary General, ISA Secretariat) Mr. Andrew McDowell (Vice President, EIB)