Six States sign MoU for Lakhwar dam in Uttarakhand

The Centre and six states signed an agreement for building the Lakhwar dam in Uttarakhand in the Upper Yamuna basin. The MoU was signed by Nitin Gadkari, Water Resources Minister, with each of the six chief ministers – Arvind Kejriwal of Delhi, Yogi Adityanath of Uttar Pradesh, Vasundhara Raje Scindia of Rajasthan, Trivendra Singh Rawat of Uttarakhand, Manohar Lal of Haryana, Jai Ram Thakur of Himachal Pradesh. Almost Rs. 4,000 crore will be spent on building the dam. The project will be funded 90 per cent by the Centre, with the remaining cost to be borne by the States. Upper Yamuna refers to the stretch of river from its origin to the Okhla barrage in Delhi. This project will raise storage levels and increase the water availability in the Yamuna by 65 per cent. The States will get more water for drinking, irrigation and industrial use during December-June.